Journalists’ Statement on Ukraine:


We, the undersigned organizations, stand in solidarity with the people of Ukraine, but particularly Ukrainian journalists who now find themselves at the frontlines of a large-scale European war.

We unilaterally condemn the violence and aggression that puts thousands of our colleagues all over Ukraine in grave danger.

We call on the international community to provide any possible assistance to those who are taking on the brave role of reporting from the war zone that is now Ukraine.

We condemn the physical violence, the cyberattacks, disinformation and all other weapons employed by the aggressor against the free and democratic Ukrainian press.

We also stand in solidarity with independent Russian media who continue to report the truth in unprecedented conditions.

Join the statement of support for Ukraine by signing it here.


First 50 signatories:

Justice for Journalists Foundation, Index on Censorship, International Foundation for Protection of Freedom of Speech “Adil Soz”, International Media Support (IMS), Yerevan Press Club , , Free Press, Unlimited, Human Rights Center “Viasna”, Albanian Helsinki Committee, Media Rights Group, Azerbaijan, European Centre for Press and Media Freedom, Association of European Journalists, School of Peacemaking and Media Technology in Central Asia, Human Rights Center of Azerbaijan, Reporters Without Borders, RSF, Association of Independent Press of Moldova, API, Public Association “Dignity”, Kazakhstan, PEN International, Human Rights House Foundation, Norway, IFEX, UNITED for Intercultural Action, Human Rights House Yerevan, Helsinki Citizens’ Assembly – Vanadzor, Armenia, Rafto Foundation for Human Rights, Norway, Society of Journalists, Warsaw, The Swedish OSCE-network, Hungarian Helsinki Committee , Legal policy research centre, Kazakhstan, Public Foundation Notabene – Tajikistan, HR NGO “Citizens’ Watch – St. Petersburg, Russia, English PEN, Public organization “Dawn” – Tajikistan, International Press Institute (IPI), The Union of Journalists of Kazakhstan, ARTICLE 19, Human Rights House Tbilisi, Rights Georgia, Election Monitoring and Democracy Studies Center. Azerbaijan, International Service for Human Rights (ISHR), Bulgarian Helsinki Committee, Global Forum for Media Development (GFMD), International Federation of Journalists (IFJ), European Federation of Journalists (EFJ), Social Media Development Center, Georgia, Populus Rei, Georgia, Independent Journalists’ Association of Serbia, OBC Transeuropa, The Bureau of Investigative Journalism, Journalists Union YENI NESIL, Azerbaijan, Media and Law Studies Association (MLSA), Istanbul,  Baku Press Club, Centre for Journalism Innovation and Development, Premium Times, Union Sapari, The Coalition For Women In Journalism (CFWIJ), Committee to Protect Freedom of Expression

IFJ and EFJ affiliates:

  • Belarus: BAJ
  • Belgium: AGJPB (AJP and VVJ)
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina: BHJA
  • Croatia: CJA, TUCJ
  • Czech Republic: SNCR
  • Denmark: DJ
  • Estonia: EAS
  • Finland: UJF
  • France: CFDT-Journalistes, SNJ-CGT, SNJ
  • Georgia: IAGJ
  • Germany: DJV, dju in Verdi
  • Greece: PEPU
  • Hungary: HPU
  • Italy: FNSI
  • Kosovo: AJK
  • Lithuania: LZS
  • Montenegro: TUMM
  • Nertherlands: NVJ
  • North Macedonia: AJM, SSNM
  • Norway: NJ
  • Poland: Society of Journalists (TD)
  • Portugal: SJ
  • Romania: MediaSind
  • Russia: JMWU
  • Serbia: NUNS
  • Slovakia: SSN
  • Slovenia: SAJ-DNS, SNS
  • Sweden: SJF
  • Switzerland: impressum
  • Turkey: TGC
  • United Kingdom & Ireland: NUJ


If you’ve read this far, you were pretty interested, right? Isn’t that worth a few bucks -maybe more?  Please donate and  subscribe to help provide our informative, timely analysis unswerving in its commitment to struggles for peace, freedom, equality, and justice — what New Politics has called “socialism” for a half-century.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.