Biden, Borders and the Fight for Migrant Rights

[PDF][Print]
Join us for this online event on Sunday, April 25, 2pm ET/1pm CT/12pm MT/11am PT
The Biden administration’s policies have precipitated a humanitarian crisis on the US/ Mexico border. While it repealed some of Trump’s vicious anti-immigrant orders, the administration has maintained a closed border, expelled over 170,000 people, thrown over 19,000 children into detention centers, and pressured Mexico to bar migrants on its southern border. This panel will discuss Biden’s betrayal of his campaign promises and what the movement must do to win migrant justice.

Speakers:

  • Justin Akers Chacón, educator and union activist in the San Diego-Tijuana border region, member of the Puntorojo editorial collective, and author of No One is Illegal (with Mike Davis), Radicals in the Barrio, and The Border Crossed Us: The Case for Opening the US-Mexico Border (forthcoming)
  • An anonymous Tejana, who will give an eyewitness account of the conditions of children being held in migrant detention prisons
  • Luis Rangel Rojas, a member of the Partido Revolucionario de los Trabajadores in Mexico
  • Ashley Smith, a member of DSA in Burlington, Vermont and of the Tempest Collective. He has written in numerous publications including Spectre, Truthout, Jacobin, and New Politics
Sponsored by: New Politics, puntorojo, Rampant, and Tempest

 

If you’ve read this far, you were pretty interested, right? Isn’t that worth a few bucks -maybe more?  Please donate and  subscribe to help provide our informative, timely analysis unswerving in its commitment to struggles for peace, freedom, equality, and justice — what New Politics has called “socialism” for a half-century.

 

Leave a Reply

You have to agree to the comment policy.

*